Patrick Couvreur Technological Innovation Liliane Bettencourt (2009-2010)



Pharmacist, Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL), Belgium (1972)

PhD in Pharmaceutical Sciences, UCL (1975)

Post doctoral research position, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH), Zurich, Switzerland (1976-1977)

Associate Professor, UCL (1978-1983)

Agrégation of "Enseignement Supérieur", UCL (1980)

Full Professor of Pharmacy, Université Paris-Sud (France) (since 1984)

Senior Member of the "Institut Universitaire de France" (IUF) (since 2009)

Professor at the "Collège de France", holder of the chair of "Innovation Technologique Liliane Bettencourt" (2009-2010)

Current position

Director of the Department "Physico-Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Technology and biopharmacy" (UMR CNRS 8612), a Multidisciplinary Research Institute specialized in drug delivery and targeting (110 researchers) (since 1998)

Founder and Director of the Doctoral School "Therapeutic Innovation"(300 PhD students) (1999-2006)

Responsible for the "Drug Discovery" within the pole of competitiveness "MEDICEN" Research and main research achievements (H-index 51; 9100 citations) (since 2005)


The research performed is at the interface between the Physics of the Colloids, the Polymer Chemistry and the Pharmacology. It concerns the conception of new systems for drug delivery and targeting (nanoparticles, liposomes, nanoemulsions, prodrugs etc.); it has led to: 367 international peer review publications, 50 patents, 109 review articles and book chapters, 7 books, 193 invited conferences, mainly in international congresses, 59 PhD thesis.


Bioalliance has been created to translate into clinic the technology of doxorubicin-loaded polyalkylcyanoacrylate nanoparticles. P. Couvreur is also the founder of the start-up company Medsqual which is aimed to lead to the clinic, the squalenoyl anticancer and antiviral nanomedicines.

Principal International Responsibilities (past and present)

Member of the Board of Governors of the Controlled Release Society

Member of the Board of the International Society of Drug Delivery Sciences and Technology (APGI)

Member of the Executive Committee of the International Consortium ULLA (Universities of Uppsala, Leyden, Amsterdam, London, Copenhagen and Paris Sud)

Member of the Academic Scientific Committee for the evaluation of the Dutch universities (VCNU)

Member of the Board of Pharmaceutical Sciences, International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP)

Chair of several International Congresses and Symposium on Controlled Release

Extraordinary Professor at the Université Catholique de Louvain (Belgium)

President of the Committee for Academic Research and Relations (CARR) of the European Federation of Pharmaceutical Sciences (EUFEPS)

Field Editor of "Pharmaceutical Research" and Editor for Europe of the "Journal of Nanoparticle Research"

Member of the Editorial Board of numerous other international journals

Principal National Responsibilities (past and present)

Expert for the French Ministry of Industry, the Ministry of Education and Research and the National Agency for Innovation (OSEO ANVAR)

Member of the National Council of the Universities (CNU), of the National Committee for Sciences (CNRS) and of various Scientific Councils ("Region Centre", Cachan Engineering School, OMNT...)

Founder President of the "Research Group on Drug Delivery and Targeting" (GTRV) and one of the founder members of MEDICEN, one of the ten French "Poles de compétitivité mondiaux"


Member of the Academy of Technology (France)

Member of the Academy of Pharmacy (France)

Corresponding Member of the Royal Academy of Medicine (Belgium)

Scientific Awards

Winner 1981 of the "Prix des Assurances Générales de France" (1981)

Alvarenga Prize of the Académie Royale de Médecine de Belgique (1983)

Winner of the "Prix Quinquennal (1984-1989) des Sciences Pharmaceutiques et Thérapeutiques of the Académie Royale de Médecine de Belgique"

Forcheimer Fund of Israël (1990)

1990 winner of the Young Investigator Award for Excellence in Research of the Controlled Release Society (Reno, USA)

Vinci of Excellence of the Award Science pour l'Art of LVMH (Paris, 1993)

"Pharmaceutical Scientist of the Year 1996" of the Fédération Internationale Pharmaceutique (FIP) (Jérusalem, 1996)

Glaxo Wellcome International Achievement Award (1998)

"Prix de l'Innovation et du Transfert de Technologie" given by Paris Ile-de-de France-Capitale Economique for the creation of the "start-up" Bioalliance (1999)

Barré 2003 Award of the University of Montréal (Canada)

Winner of the 2004 Pharmaceutical Sciences World Congress Award (Kyoto, Japon)

Awardee of the "8e concours national d'aide à la création d'entreprises de technologies innovantes" (Paris, 2006)

Host Madsen Medal, given by the International Federation of Pharmacy in Beijing (China, September 2007)

"Grand Prix de l'Innovation" given by L'Usine Nouvelle

Winner of the Marie-Maurice Janot Award lecture given at the 6th World Congress of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics in Barcelona (Spain, April 2008)

"Prix Galien" (Paris, 2009)

коврик в детскую